Calling all Veganuary wine drinkers!

January 05, 2021

Calling all Veganuary wine drinkers! - Corelli Wine

Why isn’t all wine vegetarian/vegan friendly?

 

Many people are surprised to hear that a large percentage of wine is not vegan friendly or even vegetarian. During the manufacturing process, most wines have fining agents added to them to stabilise the wine and remove certain soluble particles; this is in order to control the colour, clarity, aroma and taste. It is these fining agents that are sometimes derived from animal products and therefore not vegan friendly.

Wine will clarify itself via a process called barrel maturation where the particles will precipitate to the bottom and can then be removed, however this process can take a huge amount of time to occur naturally. Increased production time means increased cost to a producer, so numerous wineries will use fining agents during production to speed up the process. 

The wines soluble particles (Colloids) can include polymerised tannins, colouring phenols, dead yeast cells (Lees) and proteins. The fining agent will bind to these particles, creating larger molecules which will precipitate out of the wine more readily. Once this process is complete, the wine is transferred to a fresh barrel in a process called racking.

Fining is not to be confused with filtration, where wine is passed through microscopic filters that become progressively finer to remove the larger insoluble particles from the wine, such as grape skins, stems and pulp. Unfiltered wines contain sediment that can contribute to their complexity.  

 

What are non-vegan fining agents?

 

Common fining agents used in wine production include:

  • Gelatine
  • Isinglass (derived from fish)
  • Albumen (egg whites)
  • Milk casein

These 

Thankfully the method of using animal blood has been banned in the US and Europe since 1987.

 

How do I tell if my wine is vegan friendly?

 

  • Keep an eye out for wines that are natural (almost all natural wines are vegan friendly)
  • Check if the label states that the wine is unfiltered or unfined (non-filtre, sins-filtrar or non-filtrato)
  • Look for vegan fining agents used in production (Pea protein, Bentonite clay, Activated charcoal, Silica gel)
  • Wineries are not legally obligated to state what fining agents they use. EU winemakers must include allergen information though, so you will always know whether milk or egg products have been used to clarify the wine.
  • Some supermarkets and other distributors will now label their own wine as vegan friendly; this does not mean every wine they stock will be labelled this way.

 

Our vegan friendly wines

 

Find our selection of natural, vegan friendly wines here.

 

Our reference material to help us write this article

Oxford Companion to Wine, Edited by Jancis Robinson, 4th Edition; 

Wine Folly: The Magnum Edition: The Master Guide, Michale Joseph; 

     

 




Leave a comment

Comments will be approved before showing up.


Also in Greek Wine Wiki

an abundance of black wine bottles been aged filled with dust and cobwebs
Ageing wine, Why and When you should

May 11, 2021

Wine ageing refers to changes in the composition of a wine after bottling in the absence of oxygen, in the barrel you would more likely hear the term ‘maturation’.

Continue Reading

unfiltered wine laid on its side- Corelli wine
Why ‘clean wine’ perhaps doesn’t look that clean at all…

May 11, 2021

 Leading the charge for clean wine brands is Cameron Diaz  new wine company Avaline. Founded to provide a safe haven for health-conscious wine drinkers, wines from Avaline contain ‘little to no chemicals’, and generic information on ingredients and nutrition is provided with each wine.

Continue Reading

image on how to taste wine
The basics of wine tasting

May 11, 2021

 There are 4 basic steps to any tasting; 1. the look, 2. the smell, 3. the taste and 4. to pause and think.

Continue Reading